Author Topic: Can't install my HP Officejet pro 8600 plus  (Read 1851 times)

Offline Elvis

• Service Before Self
Can't install my HP Officejet pro 8600 plus
« on: April 10, 2012, 08:21:28 PM »
HP Officejet pro 8600 plus: I went to the Synaptic Package Manager and installed the hplip package, but when I go to HPLIP Toolbox that it installed and try to install my printer, it can't see my network printer@my ip address, and it seems that they do not have any up to date drivers, just older printers. Maybe I was in to big of a hurry and maybe I should have not installed the hplip? I'm new at all this, maybe I should have asked before I jumped?
Can Someone Please Help me with my printer problem. Thank You.
« Last Edit: April 10, 2012, 08:32:59 PM by Elvis »

Offline GMaq

• Administrator
  • A/V 'Nixer
    • www.bandshed.net
Re: Can't install my HP Officejet pro 8600 plus
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2012, 09:45:40 PM »
Hi,

Yes the printer hplip drivers in Squeeze are a bit old. I built a newer package a while back and it supports my 8500A, but I don't know if it will support your 8600 plus or not. This package is intended for AV Linux 5.0.3 and you will need to go and use Synaptic to uninstall the older hplip package from the Squeeze repos also make sure you also fully uninstall any other hplip related package which may appear in the auto-removable section of Synaptic. Custom packaging hplip is quite difficult and this package was a one-off to help another user awhile back because the latest drivers from HPLIP at the time were majorly broken for Debian users.

The newer HPLIP package is here: http://bandshed.net/custom/hplip_3.11.10avlinux-1_i386.deb