Author Topic: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing  (Read 58408 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #330 on: March 08, 2013, 12:57:33 AM »
Please remember that wheezy is still in development and hasn't been released stable.  Lots of things change which is why I normally shy away from creating remastersys versions for development versions of ubuntu and debian until they are released stable.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline bubblecore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #331 on: March 08, 2013, 01:08:07 AM »
Remastersys is awesome program and don't have any issues with it on testing before.
But wheezy is frozen and i thougt, that mantainers wasn't make cardinal changes already.
« Last Edit: March 08, 2013, 01:11:17 AM by bubblecore »

Offline bubblecore

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #332 on: March 08, 2013, 01:29:55 AM »
Problem is partly solved. Thanks for fragadelic- live installer can choose locales :)
System after installation have russian lang.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #333 on: March 08, 2013, 01:33:47 AM »
I know you aren't blaming me.  Wheezy has been really good for several months now and it just started to break again a couple of weeks ago.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline freesiete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #334 on: March 22, 2013, 12:02:58 PM »
Hi,

Tested with Linux Mint Debian 201303 and everything works fine.
I've make a custom backup iso
The live is perfect
I've install the iso and perfect too
Too good to believe it

Great job and thank you very much fragadelic  :yahoo: :yahoo:

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #335 on: March 23, 2013, 03:39:21 PM »
This is good news about mint debian edition as it seems they have finally moved completely to the debian live boot method.  Previous versions were using some modified live boot they created themselves and would not work properly.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline freesiete

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #336 on: March 26, 2013, 04:12:44 PM »
Yes, I know. I've been trying and looking for this remastersys since a lot of lmde versions or respins, necause remaster is absolutelly essential for a lot of reasons. And that's the one. Thank you and keep on.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #337 on: April 09, 2013, 07:16:59 PM »
Removing swap would be a lot more work for me and I don't have time for that right now.  I would basically have to rewrite the installer.  If I get time I will see.

If your system is logging into fluxbox then you don't have it setup properly.  Check your lightdm config.

32G laptops?  Where?  Everything I see is 3 or 4G.

Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #338 on: April 09, 2013, 07:32:22 PM »
All the issues are resolved.  If you are still having them then something is wrong in your config.  I'm posting this from a custom desktop and it works perfectly in live.

Post your lightdm config files or email them to me so I can take a look as well as output of "ls /usr/share/xsessions"
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #339 on: April 09, 2013, 08:19:11 PM »
From the original system.  Also, do you have more than 1 login manager installed?
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #340 on: April 09, 2013, 08:39:18 PM »
Make sure you don't have nodm installed.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #341 on: April 09, 2013, 09:46:20 PM »
Code: [Select]
user-session=fluxbox
This is why it is running fluxbox.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #342 on: April 09, 2013, 10:11:23 PM »
Code: [Select]
The issue is that from the LiveCD, it is auto logging into FluxBox
You don't understand how it works.  The live system will auto login to the user session set in the lightdm config.  The live system will auto login the live user and because you are using lightdm and have fluxbox set as the default session, it will login.  This is not a debian problem or any issue at all.  I think you expect it to work differently than it is meant to.

What exactly do you want it to do?
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #343 on: April 09, 2013, 10:35:13 PM »
Quote
Explain to me how lightDM can auto login when auto login is not enabled?

The default behaviour of the live system in debian and ubuntu is to change the config on the fly to autologin the live user.

This is the /lib/live/config/0110-lightdm file - all display(login) managers are automatically set to autologin.
Code: [Select]
#!/bin/sh

## live-config(7) - System Configuration Scripts
## Copyright (C) 2006-2013 Daniel Baumann <daniel@debian.org>
##
## This program comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY; for details see COPYING.
## This is free software, and you are welcome to redistribute it
## under certain conditions; see COPYING for details.


Lightdm ()
{
# Checking if package is installed or already configured
if [ ! -e /var/lib/dpkg/info/lightdm.list ]
then
return
fi

if [ -e /var/lib/live/config/lightdm ]
then
# Avoid xinit
_X11="true"
export _X11

return
fi

echo -n " lightdm"

# Reading kernel command line
for _PARAMETER in ${_CMDLINE}
do
case "${_PARAMETER}" in
live-config.username=*|username=*)
LIVE_USERNAME="${_PARAMETER#*username=}"
;;
esac
done

Configure_lightdm
}

Configure_lightdm ()
{
if [ -e /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf ]
then
sed -i -r -e "s|^#.*autologin-user=.*\$|autologin-user=${LIVE_USERNAME}|" \
  -e "s|^#.*autologin-user-timeout=.*\$|autologin-user-timeout=0|" \
/etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf
fi

# Avoid xinit
_X11="true"
export _X11

# Creating state file
touch /var/lib/live/config/lightdm
}

Lightdm

My installer removes the autologin after install as it is set by the live.  This is not a new issue.  They have been doing this for years.  When it doesn't login, there is a problem and that is what I fix so unfortunately, yes, you do not understand how it works or is supposed to work.

You can very easily change this by omitting the 0110-lightdm from the live boot and then it will make the user login manually.

The live user is now getting a password "live" but it wasn't always that way.  It used to be a blank password and ubuntu still does it this way.

Arguing with me about it is kind of pointless since I've been doing this for over 6 years and have a full understanding of how the live works on both ubuntu and debian.  When they change things I have to fix them by examining all the live scripts.  Sometimes helpful users such as yourself point out issues that I don't find and then I search for and fix them.

If you want to permanently change the behaviour, you must edit /usr/bin/remastersys and change this line:
Code: [Select]
        echo "export LIVE_NOCONFIGS=\"xinit\"" >> /etc/live/config.conf
to

Code: [Select]
        echo "export LIVE_NOCONFIGS=\"xinit,lightdm\"" >> /etc/live/config.conf
Now it will never setup auto login for lightdm but let your users know you changed it since most live setups are supposed to auto login - all the major distributions do this.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline zz999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #344 on: April 15, 2013, 09:25:38 AM »
Problem is partly solved. Thanks for fragadelic- live installer can choose locales :)
System after installation have russian lang.
add in live.cfg "locales=ru_RU.UTF-8" after "config":
Code: [Select]
label live
menu label Live
kernel /live/vmlinuz
append initrd=/live/initrd.img boot=live config locales=ru_RU.UTF-8 quiet

label livefailsafe
menu label Live (failsafe)
kernel /live/vmlinuz
append initrd=/live/initrd.img boot=live config noapic noapm nodma nomce nolapic pci=nomsi nomodeset radeon.modeset=0 nouveau.modeset=0 nosmp vga=normal

label memtest
menu label memtest - Run memtest
kernel /isolinux/memtest.bin
append -

label hd
menu label hd - boot the first hard disk
localboot 0x80
append -

Offline zz999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #345 on: April 15, 2013, 10:09:18 AM »
my Lightdm.conf:
Code: [Select]
[LightDM]

[SeatDefaults]
xserver-allow-tcp = false
greeter-session = lightdm-gtk-greeter
greeter-hide-users = true
session-wrapper = /etc/X11/Xsession
autologin-user-timeout = 0
greeter-show-manual-login = true
user-session = xfce
allow-guest = false

[XDMCPServer]

[VNCServer]
Debian Wheezy XFCE, no problem with autologin...

Offline monke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #346 on: April 27, 2013, 03:34:51 PM »
Hi fragadelic

We are having troubles with debian Wheezy. We made several debian backups, and in all of them are the same datas (that ones without problems)it finished with 3.4 gb the isos, and i dont know why suddenly now the remastersys is no working, the error is "iso to large, we must reduce the data in the filesystem"

The error is simply to understand, but what we dont understand is how is possible that if we are making a backup to the same system all the time,we didnt modify and install anything new, its seems that the compressor is not working good or something.

The ISOTMP (filesystem.squasfs) it takes 10 GB

But for example the same datas in ubuntu (in another diferent system) the ISOTMP 3.5 (filesystem.squasfs)

Any help?



Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #347 on: April 27, 2013, 04:22:18 PM »
Did you email me?I emailed you back but your email system said you are over quota and refused to receive it.

Anyway, check your trash.  Also, post your remastersys.log.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #348 on: April 27, 2013, 05:25:44 PM »
VastOne,

The default behaviour for Debian and Ubuntu live systems is to auto login the live user.  If you want something different, you have to modify the live or remove or comment out the scripts that do this like I showed you before.

You are really starting to sound like a broken record with your "login issues".  There are no issues.  You want it to work differently than it is designed and I've explained how to accomplish that.

At this point I am instructing you to stop posting about your login issues since you won't listen to me and don't want to understand how it works.
« Last Edit: April 27, 2013, 05:29:37 PM by fragadelic »
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline monke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #349 on: April 27, 2013, 06:05:49 PM »
Did you email me?I emailed you back but your email system said you are over quota and refused to receive it.

Anyway, check your trash.  Also, post your remastersys.log.

The remastersys Log:

Code: [Select]
------------------------------------------------------
Mount information
sysfs on /sys type sysfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
proc on /proc type proc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
udev on /dev type devtmpfs (rw,relatime,size=10240k,nr_inodes=216623,mode=755)
devpts on /dev/pts type devpts (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,gid=5,mode=620,ptmxmode=000)
tmpfs on /run type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,noexec,relatime,size=284184k,mode=755)
/dev/disk/by-uuid/6a995451-75d4-4bc1-9e65-a1a3892a1eb2 on / type ext4 (rw,relatime,errors=remount-ro,user_xattr,barrier=1,data=ordered)
tmpfs on /run/lock type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=5120k)
tmpfs on /run/shm type tmpfs (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime,size=1820080k)
rpc_pipefs on /var/lib/nfs/rpc_pipefs type rpc_pipefs (rw,relatime)
binfmt_misc on /proc/sys/fs/binfmt_misc type binfmt_misc (rw,nosuid,nodev,noexec,relatime)
fusectl on /sys/fs/fuse/connections type fusectl (rw,relatime)
------------------------------------------------------
df information
Filesystem                                              Size  Used Avail Use% Mounted on
rootfs                                                  236G   36G  189G  16% /
udev                                                     10M     0   10M   0% /dev
tmpfs                                                   278M  432K  278M   1% /run
/dev/disk/by-uuid/6a995451-75d4-4bc1-9e65-a1a3892a1eb2  236G   36G  189G  16% /
tmpfs                                                   5.0M     0  5.0M   0% /run/lock
tmpfs                                                   1.8G   88K  1.8G   1% /run/shm
------------------------------------------------------
/etc/remastersys.conf info
#Remastersys Global Configuration File


# This is the temporary working directory and won't be included on the cd/dvd
WORKDIR="/home/remastersys"


# Here you can add any other files or directories to be excluded from the live filesystem
# Separate each entry with a space
EXCLUDES=" "


# Here you can change the livecd/dvd username
LIVEUSER="bugtraq-ii black widow"


# Here you can change the name of the livecd/dvd label
LIVECDLABEL="Bugtraq-II Black Widow"


# Here you can change the name of the ISO file that is created
CUSTOMISO="bugtraq-II_d_xfce_x32.iso"


# Here you can change the boot method for the live - GRUB or ISOLINUX
ISOBOOT="ISOLINUX"


# Options for mksquashfs
#Default is -no-recovery -always-use-fragments -b 1M
SQUASHFSOPTS=" -no-recovery -always-use-fragments -b 1M -comp xz -no-duplicates"


#Option to show install icon on live desktop in dist mode 1=yes or true, 0=no or false
SHOWICON="0"


------------------------------------------------------
/etc/live/config.conf info
export LIVE_USERNAME="bugtraq"
export LIVE_USER_FULLNAME="Live session user"
export LIVE_HOSTNAME="bugtraq"
export LIVE_NOCONFIGS="user-setup,sudo,locales,locales-all,tzdata,gdm,gdm3,kdm,lightdm,lxdm,nodm,slim,xinit,keyboard-configuration,gnome-panel-data,gnome-power-manager,gnome-screensaver,kde-services,debian-installer-launcher,login"
------------------------------------------------------
/etc/passwd info
root:x:0:0:root:/root:/bin/bash
daemon:x:1:1:daemon:/usr/sbin:/bin/sh
bin:x:2:2:bin:/bin:/bin/sh
sys:x:3:3:sys:/dev:/bin/sh
sync:x:4:65534:sync:/bin:/bin/sync
games:x:5:60:games:/usr/games:/bin/sh
man:x:6:12:man:/var/cache/man:/bin/sh
lp:x:7:7:lp:/var/spool/lpd:/bin/sh
mail:x:8:8:mail:/var/mail:/bin/sh
news:x:9:9:news:/var/spool/news:/bin/sh
uucp:x:10:10:uucp:/var/spool/uucp:/bin/sh
proxy:x:13:13:proxy:/bin:/bin/sh
www-data:x:33:33:www-data:/var/www:/bin/sh
backup:x:34:34:backup:/var/backups:/bin/sh
list:x:38:38:Mailing List Manager:/var/list:/bin/sh
irc:x:39:39:ircd:/var/run/ircd:/bin/sh
gnats:x:41:41:Gnats Bug-Reporting System (admin):/var/lib/gnats:/bin/sh
nobody:x:65534:65534:nobody:/nonexistent:/bin/sh
libuuid:x:100:101::/var/lib/libuuid:/bin/sh
avahi-autoipd:x:101:104:Avahi autoip daemon,,,:/var/lib/avahi-autoipd:/bin/false
messagebus:x:102:106::/var/run/dbus:/bin/false
colord:x:103:107:colord colour management daemon,,,:/var/lib/colord:/bin/false
usbmux:x:104:46:usbmux daemon,,,:/home/usbmux:/bin/false
Debian-exim:x:105:113::/var/spool/exim4:/bin/false
statd:x:106:65534::/var/lib/nfs:/bin/false
avahi:x:107:116:Avahi mDNS daemon,,,:/var/run/avahi-daemon:/bin/false
hplip:x:108:7:HPLIP system user,,,:/var/run/hplip:/bin/false
lightdm:x:109:117:Light Display Manager:/var/lib/lightdm:/bin/false
saned:x:110:118::/home/saned:/bin/false
bugtraq:x:1000:1000:bugtraq,,,:/home/bugtraq:/bin/bash
postgres:x:1001:1001::/home/postgres:/bin/sh
i2psvc:x:111:119:I2P Router Daemon:/var/lib/i2p:/bin/false
mysql:x:112:120:MySQL Server,,,:/nonexistent:/bin/false
privoxy:x:113:65534::/etc/privoxy:/bin/false
debian-tor:x:114:121::/var/lib/tor:/bin/false
pulse:x:115:122:PulseAudio daemon,,,:/var/run/pulse:/bin/false
rtkit:x:116:124:RealtimeKit,,,:/proc:/bin/false
timidity:x:117:125:TiMidity++ MIDI sequencer service:/etc/timidity:/bin/false
haldaemon:x:118:126:Hardware abstraction layer,,,:/var/run/hald:/bin/false
gsmsms:x:119:128::/var/spool/sms:/bin/false
libvirt-qemu:x:120:129:Libvirt Qemu,,,:/var/lib/libvirt:/bin/false
mdm:x:121:134:MDM Display Manager:/var/lib/mdm:/bin/false
asterisk:x:122:135:Asterisk PBX daemon,,,:/var/lib/asterisk:/bin/false
------------------------------------------------------
/etc/group info
root:x:0:
daemon:x:1:
bin:x:2:
sys:x:3:
adm:x:4:
tty:x:5:
disk:x:6:
lp:x:7:
mail:x:8:
news:x:9:
uucp:x:10:
man:x:12:
proxy:x:13:
kmem:x:15:
dialout:x:20:gsmsms,asterisk
fax:x:21:
voice:x:22:
cdrom:x:24:bugtraq
floppy:x:25:bugtraq
tape:x:26:
sudo:x:27:
audio:x:29:bugtraq,pulse,timidity,asterisk
dip:x:30:bugtraq
www-data:x:33:
backup:x:34:
operator:x:37:
list:x:38:
irc:x:39:
src:x:40:
gnats:x:41:
shadow:x:42:
utmp:x:43:
video:x:44:bugtraq
sasl:x:45:
plugdev:x:46:bugtraq
staff:x:50:
games:x:60:
users:x:100:
nogroup:x:65534:
libuuid:x:101:
crontab:x:102:
fuse:x:103:
avahi-autoipd:x:104:
scanner:x:105:saned,bugtraq
messagebus:x:106:
colord:x:107:
lpadmin:x:108:
ssl-cert:x:109:postgres
bluetooth:x:110:bugtraq
netdev:x:111:bugtraq
utempter:x:112:
Debian-exim:x:113:
mlocate:x:114:
ssh:x:115:
avahi:x:116:
lightdm:x:117:
saned:x:118:
bugtraq:x:1000:
postgres:x:1001:
i2psvc:x:119:
mysql:x:120:
kismet:x:1002:
debian-tor:x:121:bugtraq
rvm:x:1003:
pulse:x:122:
pulse-access:x:123:
rtkit:x:124:
timidity:x:125:
haldaemon:x:126:
powerdev:x:127:
gsmsms:x:128:
kvm:x:129:
libvirt:x:130:
libvirt-qemu:x:131:libvirt-qemu
iocard:x:132:
usrp:x:133:
mdm:x:134:
asterisk:x:135:
------------------------------------------------------
/etc/skel info
/etc/skel/
/etc/skel/.bashrc
/etc/skel/.bash_logout
/etc/skel/.profile
------------------------------------------------------
/etc/X11/default-display-manager info
/usr/sbin/mdm
------------------------------------------------------
Remastersys Version info
REMASTERSYSVERSION="3.0.0-1"
 
-----------------------------------------------------
Command-line options = backup
------------------------------------------------------
 The compressed filesystem is larger than the iso9660 specification allows for a single file. You must try to reduce the amount of data you are backing up and try again.

Same problem in Debian 32 bits and 64 bits

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #350 on: April 27, 2013, 06:19:26 PM »
You have 36G on your / root partition.  10GB is pretty good compression for 36GB of data.  It is basically 3:1 or 4:1 at best and that is what you are getting.  You need to reduce the / partition size.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline monke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #351 on: April 27, 2013, 06:46:23 PM »
You have 36G on your / root partition.  10GB is pretty good compression for 36GB of data.  It is basically 3:1 or 4:1 at best and that is what you are getting.  You need to reduce the / partition size.

The size its 24,6 that its beacuse remastersys see the folder /home/remastersys/remastersys/ISOTMP/

But Ubuntu have the same size and havent got problems... And before we never had problems...

How much size you can run remastersys??

Offline fragadelic

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3942
  • Karma: +0/-0
  • Remastersys Developer and Founder
    • Remastersys
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #352 on: April 27, 2013, 07:16:54 PM »
Lets be clear - this has nothing to do with remastersys.

Your system is too large.  Max size to get to 4GB would be at most a 16GB / partition.  squashfs-tools even with -comp xz compression can't get lower than that.  It just isn't possible.

You need to find out where all your space is being used.  Nothing that remastersys can do will reduce that and mksquashfs just can't perform miracles.
Please attach your remastersys.log for the system you are asking for help on as it helps me assist you much quicker.

Offline darreljohnston

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 34
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #353 on: April 27, 2013, 07:25:54 PM »
monke,

Did you ever terminate the remastersys process while it was running? Did the process ever terminate abnormally? You may have a leftover .squashfs file in the root directory structure. Look in the /etc/remastersys/isolinux/ directory to see if there is a .squashfs file.

Start the remastersys Backup program. Select and execute Clear to clear out the working folder. Close the program. Open a terminal and perform the following as user root.

Code: [Select]
su -
updatedb
locate .squashfs
exit

Are there any .squashfs files? There should be none. If there are any at all, that's what's taking the extra space.


Offline monke

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Remastersys 3.0.0 for debian wheezy needs testing
« Reply #354 on: April 27, 2013, 10:17:34 PM »
darreljohnston i will try what you said and i will give you the feedback.

Fragadelic, who talk with you was my parther Christian, i explain exatly what is the problem:

i know if the error is the filesystem is too large, its ovius, the filesystem is too large and we should clean stuff, you are right BUT there is something that is not macthing. On thursday night we made a remastersys to our debian, and it finished wirh 3.4 suddenly om friday not working anymmore. and i still have that backup, and even just installing that system and inmediatly tyou remaster it, it give us the error file too large, how is possible that i install debian on my computer with the iso size 3.4, and suddenly i make another remastersys to the debian that we just installed and we recibe that error?

And exactly the same volume of data in the filesystem is in ubuntu (iso size 3.5) and not problems. Its really weard what is happening.

i will try to do what darreljohnston said and i will give you the feedback.

Thanks both for your time really :)